top of page

Weekly Report (5/1-5/7)

The end of the road! It is so hard to believe my two years in Independent Study and Mentorship is almost over. Today I was able to observe a laparoscopic distal pancreatectomy that Dr. Mansour performed today and it was absolutely exhilarating. I would wait another two years for this opportunity to watch that procedure again. I was able to hold the specimen and feel it, and was even able to feel out and look at the tumor inside the pancreas. I was, for once, grateful that it was a laparoscopic procedure, as I was able to pull up a stool and watch the entire 2 hour procedure fairly comfortably. Honestly, to just be in the operating rooms was again was completely worth the 4:45 AM wake up call, and I would gladly do it for the rest of my life to be able to help people the way Dr. Mansour does. The other cool thing was that there were two surgical residents in the operation with Dr. Mansour, assisting him, and it was a pretty cool indication of what the next several years of my life will look like. I also turned in my final product today, and I am really pleased with how it turned out!


bottom of page