top of page

Weekly Report (4/11-4/17)

This past week in Independent Study and Mentorship was a more eventful week in comparison to the ones I have had recently. I traveled down to U.T. Southwestern to attend an OR observation orientation so that way I can observe Dr. Mansour in the operating rooms this Monday. I am incredibly excited to finally be able to get into the operating rooms, as it feels like I have been waiting pretty much the whole year, and so it is great to finally have that opportunity. Next Monday, I am headed into the operating rooms to see a pancreatoduodenectomy, or a whipple, which is a procedure I have heard Dr. Mansour talk about quite a bit, so I am excited to finally be able to witness that. It is one of the most complicated procedures in medicine, and I really cannot wait to actually be able to watch one. Essentially, the pull out and reroute the majority of the digestive tract, and it most commonly used to treat pancreatic cancer when it is located in the head of the pancreas. The Monday after that, I am headed down to watch a distal laparoscopic pancreatectomy, which I am also very excited about. I am really quite excited for this opportunity, and cannot wait to take advantage of this chance.


bottom of page