top of page

Weekly Report (4/2-4/8)

This week in Independent Study and Mentorship has been a relatively relaxed week. I heard from Ms. Tyrah Singletary about the operating room observership class I have to attend before I can get into the operating room, which is definitely a step in the right direction. The administration at U.T. Southwestern Medical Center finally reached back out to her about my observing in the operating rooms, and while they will only currently let me observe for up to two days in Dr. Mansour's operating rooms, it is still two days that I am very grateful for. I feel like I have been waiting for quite some time to get into the operating rooms this year and view some surgeries, and so I am quite excited to get that underway. I feel that the actual surgery aspect of surgical oncology is a crucial aspect of studying this topic, and while I know that it is definitely difficult to get a high school student in the operating rooms, but both Dr. Mansour and I feel that Iit is a crucial aspect of making sure I fully understand the topic. I am very excited for this opportunity and to finally be able to see Dr. mansour operate.


bottom of page