top of page

Weekly Blog Post (10/3-10/9)

This week has been a challenging and eye opening one. The business symposium was a wonderful opportunity for me to continue to push myself out of my shell. I really strived to take initiative and to introduce myself to professionals, and I felt that I did a good job of pushing myself beyond the boundaries of my comfort zone. When it comes to networking or introducing myself to people I don't know, I usually stay behind or wait until they introduce themselves. At the business symposium, however, I pushed myself and was one of the first students to begin networking. The day after the symposium, I had an interview with a neurosurgeon. This interview was a bit more difficult than my past interviews. It really opened my eyes to how medicine can change a person, and not necessarily in a good way. It also opened my eyes to how difficult it is to make it in the medical field. If anything, however, this has encouraged me to work harder and never settle because I know that if I want something, I will do everything in my power to make it happen, be it neurosurgery or surgical oncology. I finished the week with a visit to the University of Southern California in L.A. which I thoroughly enjoyed. As I continue to look towards the future, I am incredibly excited to discover the route that my ISM journey is going to follow, as well as where I will end up for college.


bottom of page