top of page

Weekly Report (9/19-9/25)

After this past week, with my decision to pursue a more surgical route, I have continued to schedule more interviews. These interviews, one with a pediatric neurosurgeon, a neurosurgeon, and a pediatric surgeon, are sure to give me more information about the field of surgery, and I am excited to be able to learn new things about a field that I have just recently chosen to pursue. The field of surgery, at least to me, is a daunting one, especially if I choose to pursue neurosurgery, but I am incredibly grateful for the opportunity to be able to gain so much valuable insight from professionals actively working in the field of surgery. I continue to be fascinated by neurosurgery, the brain is such an interesting organ, the organ with the ability to control everything that occurs in our body, from breathing, to sleeping, to eating, and the idea that someday in the future I could be operating on it is an incredibly exhilarating thought. This week, I purchased two new books, The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee and Better by Atul Gawande. I believe that both of these books, one being about cancer and the other being about surgery,will help me to further gain insight into the medical field and will be a beneficial way to gain more information at home.


bottom of page