top of page

Weekly Report (9/12-9/18)

This week was a whole new adventure. I had two interviews on Wednesday and Friday, and I was incredibly nervous for both. Never having been in any sort of situation that required me to interview a professional, I was in uncharted territories. The interviews, however, went incredibly well and I was intrigued and excited by the idea of learning more from a professional currently working in the field I wish to enter in the future. My first interview was with Dr. John Mansour at U.T. Southwestern. With Dr. Mansour being a surgical oncologist, I wasn't particularly sure how it would go as, at the time, I planned to study Pediatric Oncology and Hematology. That being said, however, I decided that I wanted to explore as much as I could of the wide field of oncology. During the interview, I was incredibly interested in the idea of surgery. The excitement and intensity of such a procedure intrigued me, and I desire to learn more. My second interview was with Dr. Victor Aquino. Dr. Aquino is a pediatric oncologist and hematologist at Children's Dallas. He focuses mainly on bone marrow transplants as well as immunology. It was incredibly interesting to discuss with him the effects of leukemia and BMT's on children. Going forward, I hope to further expose myself to the field of surgery as well as continue to learn more about pediatric oncology.


bottom of page