top of page

Weekly Report (8/25-9/4)

This coming Monday concludes my second week as a student in the Independent Study and Mentorship program. This program has turned out to be everything I expected it to be, and I am incredibly excited to see where the rest of the year takes me. The research I have done and information I have gained about Pediatric Oncology have continued to fuel my passion for the subject. The class is much more independent than I expected it to be, but I am adjusting to having such a self-monitored class. I have recently finished my contact list, and am looking forward to reaching out to professionals in the field I am interested in. I am also looking forward to doing more research and learning more about cancer, as there is still so much I need and want to learn. I currently am working on familiarizing myself with the terminology of medicine, as it is fairly different than my everyday language. I am also incredibly excited about researching some of the most recent clinical trials and changes in the field of oncology. As I researched this week, I became interested in the field of neuro-oncology. I believe that I want to focus in on this specific branch of pediatric oncology, and hopefully I will be able to find a mentor who can help me to expand my knowledge of this field. Going into next week, I plan to reach out to some of the professionals on my contact list and set up my first round of informational interviews. Overall, I cannot wait to see what the rest of this year has in store, and I am very excited to see where my ISM journey takes me.


bottom of page